Statutes / Laws


Full Site Search


The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic

World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |

Baldwin's Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated. Title IX. Counties, Cities, and Other Local Units. Chapter 65. General Provisions Applicable to Counties, Cities, and Other Local Units. Ordinances and Regulations.

Statute Details
Printable Version
Citation: KY ST 65.877

Citation: KRS 65.877

Last Checked by Web Center Staff: 01/2014

Summary:   This Kentucky statue authorizes counties and cities to regulate or prohibit the holding of inherently dangerous wildlife. For example, the Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources has identified some of the following animals as being dangerous: African buffalo, Hippopotamus, Hyenas, Old world badger, Lions, jaguars, leopards, or tigers, Clouded leopard, Cheetah, Elephants, Rhinoceroses, Gorillas, Baboons, drills, or mandrills, Crocodiles, Alligators or caimans, certain snakes, Gila monsters or beaded lizards, Komodo dragon, Wolverine, Bears, Wolf, mountain lion.

Statute in Full:

(1) A county, city, urban-county, or charter county government may regulate or prohibit the holding of wildlife that have been identified by the Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources as inherently dangerous to human health and safety.

(2) The department has declared the following species of wildlife to be inherently dangerous to human health and safety and shall establish procedures for denying or issuing a transportation permit for said wildlife:

(a) African buffalo (Syncerus caffer);

(b) Hippopotamus (Hippopotamus amphibius);

(c) Hyenas (family Hyaenidae), all species except aardwolves (Proteles cristatus);

(d) Old world badger (Meles meles);

(e) Lions, jaguars, leopards, or tigers (genus Panthera);

(f) Clouded leopard (Neofelis nebulosa);

(g) Cheetah (Acinonyx jubatus);

(h) Elephants (family Elephantidae);

(i) Rhinoceroses (family Rhinocerotidae);

(j) Gorillas (family Pongidae);

(k) Baboons, drills, or mandrills (genus Papio);

(l) Gelada baboon (Theropithecus gelada);

(m) Gavials (family Gavialidae);

(n) Crocodiles (family Crocodylidae);

(o) Alligators or caimans (family Alligatoridae);

(p) Sea snakes (family Hydrophidae);

(q) Cobras or coral snakes (family Elapidae);

(r) Adders or vipers (family Viperae);

(s) Venomous rear-fanged species (family Colubridae);

(t) Gila monsters or beaded lizards (family Helodermatidae);

(u) Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis);

(v) Wolverine (Gulo gulo);

(w) Bears (family Ursidae);

(x) Wolf or wolf hybrids of over twenty-five percent (25%) wolf; or

(y) Cougar or mountain lion (Felis concolor).


HISTORY: 1998 c 512, § 3, eff. 7-15-98


Top of Page
Share |