Statutes / Laws

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |
Oklahoma

Oklahoma Statutes Annotated. Title 29. Game and Fish. Chapter 1. Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Code. Article V. Game. Part 5. Trapping

Statute Details
Printable Version
Citation: 29 Okl. St. Ann. 5-501 - 504

Citation: OK ST T. 29 5-501 - 504


Last Checked by Web Center Staff: 01/2014

Summary:   Under these Oklahoma fur and trapping statutes, no person may trap on the inhabited land of another without a written permit to do so.  Only certain traps are allowed, such as box traps and smooth-jawed single or double spring offset, leg-hold steel traps. Trap must be tended once every 24 hours. A conviction is punished by a fine of $25-200. All persons engaged in the business of buying raw pelts must keep a daily register. A conviction shall be punished by a fine of $10-$50.


Statute in Full:

 

§ 5-501. Permission to trap on inhabited lands

§ 5-502. Trapping devices

§ 5-503. Repealed by Laws 1991, c. 182, § 68, eff. Sept. 1, 1991

§ 5-504. Fur dealers' register reports

 

§ 5-501. Permission to trap on inhabited lands

A. No person may trap on the inhabited land of another without first procuring from the owner or occupant thereof a written permit to do so.

B. Such permit must be kept on the person of such trapper whenever he tends his traps and must be presented for inspection upon demand of any officer authorized to enforce the wildlife conservation laws of this state.

C. Any person convicted of violating any of the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00).

CREDIT(S)

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 5-501, eff. April 8, 1974.

 

§ 5-502. Trapping devices

A. Except as otherwise provided by law, no person may use, set, construct, possess or tend any trap, snare, deadfall or other device for the purpose of catching any wildlife, except fish and frogs, in this state, except:

1. Box traps;

2. Smooth-jawed single-spring or smooth-jawed double-spring offset, leg-hold steel traps with a jaw spread of:

a. no more than eight (8) inches for land sets, and

b. no more than eight (8) inches for water sets; and

3. Enclosed trigger traps.

B. No trap so used may be set “in the open”, or in paths, roads, or runways commonly used by persons, domestic animals or dogs.

C. Any trap set for the purpose of catching any wildlife shall be tended once during each twenty-four (24) hours. All traps must bear the owner's name or identification attached thereto, except for any person trapping on his own property. Any person violating this subsection shall, in addition to any criminal penalty, be civilly liable for all damages caused by such violation.

D. On any lands where smooth-jawed double-spring offset traps are used, the posting of signs shall be required to the right and left of all entrances from public roads and highways and from adjacent lands and at corners of perimeter fences, provided that this requirement shall not apply to any person trapping on his own property. Size, character and wording of these signs are to be determined by the State Wildlife Conservation Commission.

E. Employees of the State Department of Agriculture Wildlife Services Division and the United States Department of Agriculture Wildlife Services while engaged in wildlife management activities for the protection of agriculture, property, human health and safety and natural resources shall be exempt from the provisions of this section. Employees engaging in such wildlife management activities on any lands where smooth-jawed double-spring offset traps are used shall be required to post signs which comply with federal requirements to the right and left of all entrances from public roads and highways and from adjacent lands and at corners of perimeter fences.

F. Any person convicted of violating any of the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00).

CREDIT(S)

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 5-502, eff. April 8, 1974; Laws 1992, c. 149, § 9, emerg. eff. April 30, 1992; Laws 2000, c. 191, § 3, eff. Nov. 1, 2000; Laws 2000, c. 256, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 2000; Laws 2012, c. 165, § 1, eff. Sept. 1, 2012.


§ 5-503. Repealed by Laws 1991, c. 182, § 68, eff. Sept. 1, 1991


§ 5-504. Fur dealers' register reports

 A. All persons engaged in the business of buying raw pelts of furbearers or predators, as defined in this Code, shall keep a daily register showing the name and address of every person from whom such pelts were purchased, the number of such person's trapping license, or his hunting license in lieu thereof, the number and kinds of pelts purchased and the price paid.

B. Such daily register shall be open to the Director, game wardens, or authorized agents.

C. All such fur dealers shall report on the first day of each month during and one month after the close of the fur season of all furs bought, and such report shall be forwarded to the Director.

D. Any person convicted of violating any of the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Ten Dollars ($10.00) nor more than Fifty Dollars ($50.00).

CREDIT(S)

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 5-504, eff. April 8, 1974; Laws 1991, c. 182, § 39, eff. Sept. 1, 1991.

 



Top of Page
Share |