Statutes / Laws

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |
Oregon

West's Oregon Revised Statutes Annotated. Title 48. Animals. Chapter 609. Animal Control; Exotic Animals; Dealers. Dogs Harming Livestock. 609.163. Enhanced penalties for habitual violators

Statute Details
Printable Version
Citation: O. R. S. 609.163

Citation: OR ST 609.163


Last Checked by Web Center Staff: 01/2014

Summary:  

This Oregon statute provides enhanced civil penalties (fines) for owners of dogs previously convicted of chasing, injuring, or killing livestock.  The owners must have been previously assessed a penalty to receive the enhanced fine.



Statute in Full:

(1) If a county assesses a civil penalty under ORS 609.162 against a dog owner who has previously been assessed a civil penalty, fine or forfeiture based upon the killing, wounding, injuring or chasing of livestock in an incident not involving the same dog or dogs as in the matter being determined, the county shall assess an additional civil penalty of not less than $250 and not more than $1,000.

(2) If a county assesses a civil penalty under ORS 609.162 against a dog owner who has previously been assessed two or more civil penalties, fines or forfeitures, or a combination thereof, based upon the killing, wounding, injuring or chasing of livestock in two or more incidents not involving the same dog or dogs as in the matter being determined, the county shall assess an additional civil penalty of not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000. A penalty under this subsection is in lieu of a civil penalty under subsection (1) of this section.

(3) In addition to any other civil penalty under this section or ORS 609.162, if a dog that kills, wounds, injures or chases livestock is not licensed as required, the county may assess a civil penalty of not more than $1,000. A civil penalty imposed under this subsection shall prevent imposition of a fine under ORS 609.990 for violation of ORS 609.100.

CREDIT(S)

Laws 1999, c. 756, § 6.

 



Top of Page
Share |